Charlebois Council 2704
   •   P.O. Box 158   •    The Pas, Manitoba   •    R9A 1K4   •   
red horizontal line










 RPS Challenge

Starting in April 2010, an annual competition was established by Charlebois Council at École Scott Bateman Middle School in The Pas - the Rock, Paper, Scissors Challenge. Every student in the school, which has an enrolment of about 365 students,  was able to participate as each class establishes its winner, who then moved on to a final round held at a school assembly.

The first annual event's finalists competed on April 26, 2010 as the student body looked on. Cash prizes were given to the three finalists. The overall winner also received a plaque, and a display plaque has been posted in the school.

Grand Knight Ken Kelly presents 1st place winner with a cheque and a trophy. GK Kelly with the three finalists (and the SBMS mascot) after the 1st Annual RPS Challenge.

The second annual Challenge was held Thursday, April 21, 2011.There were 18 finalists selected earlier through competitions in each classroom. The student body assembled in the school gymnasium for the playoffs. Each class finalist received a certificate, and the three school finalists were each given a plaque and a cash prize.

 2011 Finalists

2011 Class winners

The third annual Challenge was held Thursday, April 26, 2012 in front of the 365 members of the student body. In this exciting play-off, a Grade 6 student won for the first time.

 GK Ken Kelly with the three 2012 finalists.

  Classroom winners for the
  2012 RPS Challenge

The fourth annual Challenge on Monday, April 22, 2013 was a popular event played before the full student body.

GK Don Maksymchuk speaks to the SBMS assembled students

 2013 Winner with the Grand Knight.

The fifth annual Challenge was held on Wednesday, April 30, 2014. 

 Class finalists who competed  in the 2014 RPS Challenge, with Grand Knight Wadelius.

            The top four 2014 finalists.

The 6th annual Challenge was held on Tuesday, April 28, 2015 and  introduced some glitz and staging to highlight the competitions.

   Above are the class finalists of the 2015 RPS Challenge.

              School mascot (L) with 4 finalists and Grand Knight Vaughn Wadelius.

The 7th annual Challenge was held on Monday, April 25, 2016 and had 16 class finalists compete for the final challenge to determine the winner.


                                All classroom finalists received a certificate.


          The four top 2016 finalists received a certificate and a cash award.

The 8th annual Challenge on April 26, 2017 was an exciting competition with 18 class winners eligible to compete in the finals.

Bro. Vaughn Wadelius with the finalists, including the school mascot. Cash prizes were awarded to the top four students in the competition, with a plaque going to the champion.

 The 9th annual Challenge on April 30, 2018 had 19 class competitors in the finals.
  Below are the classroom finalists.


 The top 4 competitors (L) and (R) Grand Knight Wadelius with the 2018 Champion.



The 10th annual Challenge was held on April 29, 2019.

    The four 2019 finalists
  are shown with the
  Grand Knight
  Kevin Carlson.

RPS Winners  
 2010   Marcus Fitzpatrick 
 2011   Nicholas de Hoop
 2012   Seth McLeod
 2013   Deshawn McGillivray
 2014   Carson Lind
 2015   Oryan Harrington
 2016   Chevy Nicholas
 2017   Allison Klasson
 2018   Jesse Lagimodière
 2019   Sundance Munro